Deciding on Themes

I started to look at themes for my photography in today’s lesson. Some of the themes suggested on the website are very specific, such as ‘trees’ or ‘leading lines’.

I then found a second website that gave me some more general ideas for my photographs. Some of these themes were ‘black and white’, ‘textures’, and ‘shapes’.

It’s important to decide on themes that I can actually accommodate, rather than choosing a theme such as ‘vintage signs’, as suggested by the second website. Whilst this theme would allow me to explore different techniques, it is quite unrealistic for me as there aren’t many vintage signs in my area, thus making it difficult to photograph many.

I then looked at another website that gave more specific examples for photography in a city. This site suggested themes such as early morning photographs, and then gave examples of city photographs. This website also included links to more websites, which sent me to one called ‘Digital Photography School’. This then lead me to ‘Next Level Techniques for Advanced Beginners’. This page lists lots of advice on photography, from why to use aperture to how to use focus.

All these sites are helpful for me to try and better my photography. These sites have allowed me to look at new ideas for themes whilst also getting tips on how to properly take photographs.

After looking at various sites, the three themes I have decided to do for my FMP are:

  • fashion
  • architecture
  • artificial lighting/ night time

 

References

Radden, K. (2019). 10 Fun Themes To Jumpstart Your iPhone Photography. [online] iPhone Photography School. Available at: https://iphonephotographyschool.com/photography-themes/ [Accessed 15 Feb. 2019].

Gilbreath, T. (2019). 30 Ideas to Jump-start Your Photo Theme Project – Photodoto. [online] Photodoto.com. Available at: https://photodoto.com/photo-theme-project/ [Accessed 15 Feb. 2019].

Bankhead, J. (2019). Urban & City Photography: 70 Dramatic Examples. [online] Photo & Video Envato Tuts+. Available at: https://photography.tutsplus.com/articles/urban-city-photography-70-dramatic-examples–photo-4690 [Accessed 25 Feb. 2019].

Digital Photography School. (2019). Urban Landscape Photography Tips. [online] Available at: https://digital-photography-school.com/urban-landscape-photography-tips/ [Accessed 25 Feb. 2019].

Leave a comment